January 20, 2005
AHCA Announces 2005 Award Winners

Long-time Division I coaches Mike Sertich, Mike Gilligan and Grant Standbrook are among the American Hockey Coaches Association's 2005 award winners, the organization announced today.

Sertich, a head coach for 21 years at Minnesota Duluth and Michigan Tech, earned the John "Snooks" Kelley Founders Award, given annually to the member of the coaching profession who has contributed to the overall growth and development of the sport of ice hockey in the United States.

Gilligan, the former Vermont coach who also spent time at Salem State and Yale, was named the recipient of the John MacInnes Award. Established in 1982, the award recognizes those people who have shown a great concern for amateur hockey and youth programs.

Standbrook, the legendary Maine assistant coach who was previously an assistant at Wisconsin and the head coach at Dartmouth, has been honored with the Terry Flanagan Award for his career as an assistant coach.

A complete list of the award winners follows. They will be honored at the AHCA convention this April in Naples, Florida.

John "Snooks" Kelley Founders Award: Mike Sertich, Minnesota Duluth and Michigan Tech
John MacInnes Award: Mike Gilligan, Salem State and Vermont
Terry Flanagan Award: Grant Standbrook, Wisconsin and Maine
John Mariucci Award: John Sumner, Shattuck-St. Mary's
The Jim Fullerton Award: Dana Hennigar, Hockey East Association
Joe Burke Award: Bill Cahill, Rensselaer

Send this to a friend

About Us | Advertiser Info | Site Map | Privacy Policy
© 2002-2005 Inside College Hockey, Inc., All Rights Reserved