March 28, 2005
Murray Williamson Named Hobey Baker's 2005 Legend of College Hockey

Murray Williamson

The Hobey Baker Foundation has named Murray Williamson as its 2005 Legend of Hockey award winner, the group announced on Monday. Williamson, the former Minnesota All-American and two-time U.S. Olympic head coach, will be honored at the 2005 Hobey Baker Award banquet, which will be held Thursday, May 19, at the Minneapolis Club in Minneapolis, Minn.

Williamson was a standout player at Minnesota, named to the West All-America Team in 1959 by the American Hockey Coaches Association. He went on to play in the United States Hockey League, embarking on his successful coaching career as a player/coach for the St. Paul Steers.

Williamson was the U.S. Olympic coach in 1968 and '72, leading the '72 team to a silver medal in Sapporo, Japan. Williamson was credited with bringing together a diverse group of players from both the East and Midwest, including a large number of college stars, and guiding the team to a surprise medal.

Williamson was truly a pioneer for the U.S. on the international stage. He coached the 1967 U.S. National Team, the first time the U.S. assembled a national team to train together over the course of a season. He went on to coach the 1970 and '71 U.S. National Team before coaching the 1974 U.S. National Junior Team in the first-ever World Junior Championship. He returned to lead the '75 U.S. Junior Team.

The extensive list of hockey legends Williamson coached during his career include Herb Brooks, Henry Boucha, John Cunniff, Robbie Ftorek, Lou Nanne, Scott Owens, Craig Patrick, Larry Pleau, Doug Woog and Jerry York.

The Hobey Baker's Legend of College Hockey award, presented annually since 1981, honors one of the all-time great contributors to the game of college hockey.

Send this to a friend

About Us | Advertiser Info | Site Map | Privacy Policy
© 2002-2005 Inside College Hockey, Inc., All Rights Reserved