July 28, 2005
30 Former Collegians Invited to U.S. Olympic Camp

The 2006 U.S. Olympic Team that will compete in Torino, Italy, in February is assured of having a strong college hockey presence. Thirty of the 39 players invited to September's U.S. Olympic Orientation Camp, which USA Hockey announced today, played college hockey.

Don Waddell, the former Northern Michigan star who is general manager of the U.S. team, made the announcement. The camp will be held Sept. 5-8 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Former Olympians such as Bill Guerin, Keith Tkachuk, Doug Weight, Chris Drury, Aaron Miller, Brian Rafalski and Brian Rolston headline what is largely a young group, featuring two players who were in college as recently as 2003-04 (Zach Parise and Ryan Suter).

The 30 players represent 19 schools, with Boston University, St. Cloud State and Wisconsin leading the way with three representatives apiece. Boston College, Lake Superior State, Michigan State, Minnesota and North Dakota each have two former players invited.

"The orientation camp will be a terrific opportunity for our staff to come together with the candidates for our Olympic Team to assess the potential make-up of our squad," Waddell said. "It will not be a tryout camp as the evaluation process will continue throughout the first part of the NHL season, however, it will be an important first step in the total process."

2005 United States Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp Roster

Ty Conklin (New Hampshire), Rick DiPietro (Boston University), Robert Esche, Ryan Miller (Michigan State)
Defensemen: Bryan Berard, Mark Eaton (Notre Dame), Hal Gill (Providence), Tim Gleason, Derian Hatcher, Jordan Leopold (Minnesota), John-Michael Liles (Michigan State), Paul Martin (Minnesota), Aaron Miller (Vermont), Brian Pothier (Rensselaer), Brian Rafalski (Wisconsin), Andy Roach (Ferris State), Ryan Suter (Wisconsin), David Tanabe (Wisconsin)
Forwards: Jason Blake (North Dakota), Dustin Brown, Erik Cole (Clarkson), Matt Cullen (St. Cloud State), Chris Drury (Boston University), Brian Gionta (Boston College), Scott Gomez, Bill Guerin (Boston College), Jeff Halpern (Princeton), Chris Higgins (Yale), Ryan Kesler (Ohio State), Mike Knuble (Michigan), Steve Konowalchuk, Ryan Malone (St. Cloud State), Mike Modano, Zach Parise (North Dakota), Richard Park, Mark Parrish (St. Cloud State), Brian Rolston (Lake Superior State), Keith Tkachuk (Boston University), Doug Weight (Lake Superior State)

Send this to a friend

About Us | Advertiser Info | Site Map | Privacy Policy
© 2004 Inside College Hockey, Inc., All Rights Reserved