June 17, 2003
Thirty-one Collegians to Attend U.S. Junior Camp

Thirty-one college players will be among the 43 players attending the 2003 U.S. National Junior Evaluation Camp, which will be held Aug. 3-10 at the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, N.Y.

U.S. National Junior Team
Evaluation Camp
Goaltenders 2003-04 Team
Mike Brown Saginaw (OHL)
Jim Howard Maine (H. East)
Al Montoya Michigan (CCHA)
Dominic Vicari Michigan State (CCHA)
Defensemen 2003-04 Team
Matt Carle Denver (WCHA)
Jason Dest Michigan (CCHA)
Matt Hunwick Michigan (CCHA)
Brian Lee Erie (OHL)
Jeff Likens Wisconsin (WCHA)
Jamie Milam Northern Michigan (CCHA)
Corey Potter Michigan State (CCHA)
Dylan Reese Harvard (ECAC)
Danny Richmond Michigan (CCHA)
Tom Sawatske Wisconsin (WCHA)
Evan Shaw Quebec (QMJHL)
Matt Smaby North Dakota (WCHA)
Mark Stuart Colorado College (WCHA)
Ryan Suter Wisconsin (WCHA)
James Wisniewski Plymouth (OHL)
Forwards 2003-04 Team
David Booth Michigan State (CCHA)
Dustin Brown Guelph (OHL)
Ryan Callahan Guelph (OHL)
Jake Dowell Wisconsin (WCHA)
Robbie Earl Wisconsin (WCHA)
Patrick Eaves Boston College (H. East)
Dan Fritsche Sarnia (OHL)
Josh Hennessy Quebec (QMJHL)
T.J. Hensick Michigan (CCHA)
Dan Irmen Minnesota (WCHA)
Hugh Jessiman Dartmouth (ECAC)
Ryan Kesler Ohio State (CCHA)
Colin McDonald Providence (H. East)
Greg Moore Maine (H. East)
Patrick O'Sullivan Mississauga (OHL)
Zach Parise North Dakota (WCHA)
Ryan Potulny Minnesota (WCHA)
Robbie Schremp Mississauga (OHL)
Drew Stafford North Dakota (WCHA)
Brett Sterling Colorado College (WCHA)
Nate Thompson Seattle (WHL)
John Vigilante Plymouth (OHL)
Tim Wallace Notre Dame (CCHA)
Steve Werner Massachusetts (H. East)

Participating players in the camp – which will include exhibition games between U.S. players split into two teams and under-20 teams from Finland and Sweden – are candidates for the 2004 U.S. National Junior Team. Wisconsin head coach Mike Eaves will lead that team, which will compete in the 2004 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship, Dec. 25, 2003 through Jan. 4, 2004 in Helsinki and Hameenlinna, Finland.

In addition, Hockey Canada made the invitations to its National Junior Team camp recently, a list that included two collegians: Jeff Tambellini (Michigan) and Brady Murray (North Dakota).

Michigan and Wisconsin have the most players represented on the U.S. team (five each). Other schools with more than one player attending are Michigan State and North Dakota (three each), plus Colorado College, Maine and Minnesota (two each).

The announcement was made by USA Hockey Executive Director Doug Palazzari (Colorado Springs, Colo.); 2004 U.S. National Junior Team Head Coach Mike Eaves (Madison, Wis.); USA Hockey Vice President & International Council Chairperson Tony Rossi (Chicago, Ill.); and USA Hockey Senior Director, International Administration Art Berglund (Colorado Springs, Colo.).

The camp features 11 of the original players named to the 2003 U.S. National Junior Team: forwards Dustin Brown (Ithaca, N.Y.), Patrick Eaves (Faribault, Minn.), Ryan Kesler (Livonia, Mich.), Greg Moore (Lisbon, Maine), Patrick O'Sullivan (Sterling Heights, Mich.), Zach Parise (Faribault, Minn.) and Brett Sterling (Pasadena, Calif.); defensemen Mark Stuart (Rochester, Minn.), Ryan Suter (Madison, Wis.) and James Wisniewski (Canton, Mich.); and goaltender Jim Howard (Ogdensberg, N.Y.). Eaves was initially named to the roster last year but could not play due to injury.

Last year's squad posted a 4-3-0 record and finished in fourth place at the IIHF World Junior Championship in Halifax and Sydney, Nova Scotia. Of the 43 players, seven are considered by many as potential first-round picks in this week's 2003 National Hockey League Entry Draft.

The coaching staff for the 2004 U.S. National Junior Team, which was named last month, includes Eaves and assistant coaches Moe Mantha (Ann Arbor, Mich.) and John Hynes (Madison, Wis.). In addition, Jim Johannson (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Lew Mongelluzzo (Philadelphia, Pa.) return as Team Leader and Director, Player Personnel, respectively, for the third consecutive year.

Send this to a friend

About Us | Advertiser Info | Site Map | Privacy Policy
© 2003 Inside College Hockey, Inc., All Rights Reserved